Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Worlds Without End Blog

Hugo Awards Announced (Live Blog)! Posted at 8:11 PM by Rico Simpkins


We are live at the 2012 Hugo Award ceremony, where the committee has reported a massive ballot turnout.  As I write this, hundreds thousands of nerds are filing into the Grand Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency in balmy Chicago in breathless anticipation.  We’re live blogging the results, so refresh this post to get fresher and fresher results…that is, unless you decide you’d just as soon go get something to eat and then get your results all at once!  Better yet, watch the live stream here.  We are also tweeting results to all who follow @WWend.

8:16: I wasn’t sure how much I liked the 2012 trophies.  All stacked together on the stage, however, they look great.

8:17:  “We are diverse, and we are all in this together”  -  John Scalzi, this year’s MC (to great applause)

8:28 Scalzi presented David Kyle, who presented the “Big Heart” award Juanita Coulson, noted author and fan.

8:32: Best fanzine A special committee award goes to Robert (Bob) Weinberg.

8:36:  A memorial for those who have died in the year since Renovation 2011, including the incomparable Ray Bradbury. Harry  Harrison, Neil Armstrong, Anne Macaffrey, Sally Ride, Maurice Sendack and many authors, artists and fans, whom will surely be missed.

8:48:  Analog Magazine editor, Stanley Schmidt (who received a standing ovation for lifelong career) is presenting the award for the John W. Campbell award for best new writer (not to be confused for the Campbell memorial award).  The award goes to E. Lily Yu.  Her reaction can be best described as shock.  Jay Lake presented the diadem.

8:53:  The base design for this year’s trophy (pictured above) is being explained by its creator, Deb Kosiba, who made each one by hand.

8:55:   Scalzi’s stages of being nominated for a Hugo:  elation, intimidation, bargaining, depression, nervousness.  The nominees are currently experiencing number five.  Personally, I think the story is dragging so as to intensify this stage for each of them.

9:00: The best fan artist award goes to Maureen Starkey.

9:04: The best fan writer award goes to Jim C. Hines.  He said he isn’t used to being popular, as he first learned in high school:  “It turns out that sewing a Star Trek patch onto your jean jacket isn’t the best way to get in with the cool kids.”

9:07: The best fancast (special category) award goes to SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente.  That was NOT a surprise to me.  Yes, there was much squeeing.

9:13 The best fanzine award goes to SF Signal edited by John DeNardo.  We are spared the histrionics of Christopher J. Garcia.  (Just kidding — I loved it last year)

9:20:  The best semiprozine award goes to Locus edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.

9:23: The best professional artist award goes to John Picacio (the crowd roars).

9:28:  The best editor award (long form) goes to Betsy Wollheim.

9:33: The best editor award (short form) goes to Sheila Williams.

9:40:  The best dramatic presentation (short form) award goes to “The Doctor’s Wife” (Doctor Who), written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales).  Neal Gaiman accepted the award!  Gaiman claims that Community is a Doctor Who spinoff, due to Inspector Spacetime’s presence on the show.  Ha! Also “It would be the act of a fool or a madman to try to do it [write an ep] again.  So I’m on my third draft.”  (!)

9:53:  The best dramatic presentation (long form) award goes to Game of Thrones (Season 1), created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss; written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO).  George R. R. Martin describes his original pitchmen as “mad fools” to think they could get his book on the small screen.  He adds “sure, I wish we had two more hours every season.” He and I, both.

9:55: The best graphic novel award goes to Digger by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press).  Scalzi, in the process of announcing the award, declares himself a sloppy fan of Neil Gaiman’s graphic work.  Heh.

10:03: The best “related work” award goes to The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight (Gollancz).  Graham Sleight, accepting the award, says he thinks he might be dreaming.  Scalzi promptly slaps him. “That,” Sleight responds, “is quality toastmastering.”

10:10: The best short story award, presented by Gardner Dozois, goes to “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2011).

10:12:  “The novelette is the Goldilocks form of story.  Not too short, not too long, just right” – Scalzi

10:14:  The best novelette award goes to “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders (

10:17:  The best novella award goes to “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s, September/October 2011).

And now for the big one….

10:21:  The award for best novel goes to Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor).  Ta Da!

Jo Walton’s story is a really great one for fans.  She made the trip from fandom to authorship, and this award, I think, completes an extraordinary transition.  I can’t wait to go back and read ALL five nine of her books.

10:24:  Jo just said that she thinks the nominees are the important works (and so it doesn’t matter who wins).  We agree, and this is EXACTLY why we list nominees so prominently in our tiled lists.  We’re glad to see such a great author who thinks this way.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Frank Wu   |   02 Sep 2012 @ 22:02

Thanks for liveblogging the Hugos! Congrats to all the winners, esp. Maureen and John (Picacio) on their first wins!

Frank Wu   |   02 Sep 2012 @ 22:03

Thanks for liveblogging the Hugos! And congrats to all the winners, esp. Maureen Starkey (on her first win) and John Picacio – a long-standing injustice has now been corrected!

icowrich   |   02 Sep 2012 @ 22:23

You’re welcome! It’s been our pleasure.

Emil   |   02 Sep 2012 @ 23:59

I echo Frank! And I loved Among Others, a coming-of-age story and dealing with social alienation, with SF playing a pivotal role in finding “our” places among others. A well deserved win.

Kevin J. Maroney   |   03 Sep 2012 @ 10:39

Chris Garcia did run the width of the ballroom to give Mo Starkey a hug/flying tackle when she won. Also, Jo Walton has nine novels, not 5: Three high/epic fantasies, TOOTH AND CLAW, the 3 “small change” alternate histories, and LIFELODE all preceded AMONG OTHERS.

Emil   |   05 Sep 2012 @ 03:14

Oh, and John Picacio’s Hugo is arguably the most deserving and a looooong-time coming. He’s the artist who did the cover for the Angry Robot edition of “Zoo City.”

icowrich   |   05 Sep 2012 @ 15:51

Kevin: She said “five” on a panel I was attending. I wonder if she was only counting fantasy novels, or was, perhaps, talking about some time in the past. At any rate, I’ve corrected the blog entry.

Geri Sullivan   |   06 Sep 2012 @ 03:06


“8:32: Best Fanzine goes to Robert (Bob) Weinberg.”

Chicon 7 gave Bob Weinberg a Special Committee Award, which is not a Hugo. As you correctly noted at 9:13pm, SF Signal won the Best Fanzine Hugo.

icowrich   |   06 Sep 2012 @ 22:31

Thanks, Geri. I was furiously typing live in the audience, and I’m sure I made several more mistakes, yet to be discovered! Anyway, it’s fixed.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.