Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Worlds Without End Blog

2015 BSFA Award Winner! Posted at 10:10 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The House of Shattered Wings

BSFAThe 2015 BSFA Award winners were announced Saturday, March 26th during Mancunicon, the 67th British National Science Fiction Convention, otherwise known as Eastercon.

In the Best Novel category the winner is Aliette de Bodard’s The House of Shattered Wings.  Our congrats to Aliette and all the nominees.  This win puts her on our ever-growing Award Winning Books by Women Authors list.



2015 Philip K. Dick Award Winner! Posted at 10:11 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Apex Archangel

The 2015 Philip K. Dick Award winner was announced Friday, March 25, at Norwescon 39.  The winner is Apex by Ramez Naam.  The Special Citation went to Archangel by Marguerite Reed.  Our congrats to Ramez and Marguerite and to all the nominees.

2015 Aurealis Awards Winners Posted at 2:04 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Illuminae Day Boy

The winners for the 2015 Aurealis Awards have been announced.


  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)


  • Day Boy by Trent Jamieson (Text Publishing)


  • Day Boy by Trent Jamieson (Text Publishing)

Interestingly, there was no Best Horror Novel shortlist presented for 2015 but we do have a winner. Check out the official press release for the all the winners in all categories.  Our congrats to the winners and all the nominees!

These books are a perfect fit for our Keep Calm and Read SF from Down Under Reading Challenge going on now so get ’em while they’re hot.

Game of Thrones Season 6: Trailer Posted at 7:20 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Oh, yeah. Can’t wait.

The Kitschies: 2015 Red Tentacle and Golden Tentacle Winners Posted at 6:31 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The Heart Goes Last Making Wolf

The 2015 Kitschies winners have been announced. They are:

Red TentacleThe Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood (Bloomsbury)
Golden Tentacle:  Making Wolf by Tade Thompson (Rosarium)

See the official press release on the Kitschies Blog for the full details for all categories.

Our congrats to Margaret Atwood and Tade Thompson.

Aurora Award for Canadian SF and Fantasy on Worlds Without End! Posted at 11:08 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Aurora AwardOur goal at Worlds Without End is to help you find the best genre fiction books.  To that end we present to you as many genre awards as we can find that we think are worth your time.  We are excited to announce that we have just added our 27th award!  This time we’re finally showing some love for our neighbors to the north by including the Aurora Award for English-language long-form science fiction and fantasy works by Canadian authors.

The Auroras are a popularity award, nominated by and voted on by Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA) members from across Canada. The nominees and the winners of the awards must all be Canadian, as are all the members of CSFFA.  The long-form category includes novels, collections, and anthologies and is just one of a dozen different categories they cover for works in English and French.

Take a look through the award and let us know what you think of this addition.  You’ll find many familiar names and titles that have been nominated for the award over the years and you might be surprised to find out just who is Canadian.

By the way, the deadline for the 2016 Auroras is fast approaching so if you’re a Canadian genre fan you have until March 19 to get in your nominations.  The CSFFA maintains Eligibility Lists to make things easy for you.