Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Worlds Without End Blog

2016 Bram Stoker Award Winner! Posted at 11:05 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Bram Stoker Award The FishermanThe Horror Writers Association have announced the 2016 Bram Stoker Award winners. The winner for Superior Achievement in a Novel is:

The Fisherman by John Langan (Word Horde)

Our congrats to John and all the nominees.

The award presentation occurred during the second annual StokerCon aboard the Queen Mary in Long Beach, California on the evening of April 29, 2017. See the complete list of winners in all categories at Locus.

What do you think of this result?

2017 David Gemmell Legend and Morningstar Awards Shortlists Posted at 8:00 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The finalists for the 2017 David Gemmel Legend and David Gemmel Morningstar awards have been announced. Voting is open until midnight on June 2, 2017 (GMT).


Wrath Nevernight The Wheel of Osheim The Bands of Mourning Warbeast David Gemmel Legend Award

The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel:


Infernal Duskfall Steal the Sky Snakewood Hope and Red David Gemmell Morningstar Award

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer:


The winners will be honored at a ceremony July 15, 2017 at Edge-Lit 6 in Derby, UK. For more, see the official Gemmell Awards website.

What do you think of these finalists? Anything surprise you on the list? What are your picks?

2016 Philip K. Dick Award Winner! Posted at 7:00 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The Mercy Journals Unpronounceable

The winner of the 2016 Philip K. Dick Award for distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2016 in the U.S.A. is: The Mercy Journals by Claudia Casper.  Special Citation was given to Unpronounceable by Susan diRende.

The PKD Award was presented at Norwescon 39 on March 26.  Here’s a link to a video recording of the event: PKD Award ceremony – 2016

Our congrats to the winner and all the nominees.

2016 BSFA Award Winner! Posted at 12:51 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

BSFAEurope in WinterThe British Science Fiction Association is delighted to announce the winners of the BSFA Awards for works published in 2016.

In the Best Novel category the winner is Europe in Winter by Dave Hutchison.  Our congrats to Dave and all the nominees:


See the official press release for more details.

What do you think of this result?

2016 Aurealis Award Winners Posted at 10:28 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The winners of the 2016 Aurealis Award have been announced. The winners in the SF, Fantasy, and Horror novel categories are:



  • WINNER: Gemima by Amy Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)
  • Watershed by Jane Abbott (Penguin Random House)
  • Confluence by S.K. Dunstall (Ace)
  • Squid’s Grief by DK Mok (self-published)
  • Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley (HarperCollins)
  • Threader by Rebekah Turner (Harlequin Australia)





The Grief Hole



Locus has the details for the winners in all categories.  Looks like a banner night for Jay Kristoff who won the Fantasy Award and the SF Award as co-writer with Amy Kaufman.  Well done, Sir.  Our congrats to all the winners and nominees.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi Official Teaser Posted at 1:15 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Well, it looks great — as most things Star Wars do — which mean it will disappoint — as most things Star Wars do. Still, it could be good.

Thor: Ragnarok Teaser Trailer [HD] Posted at 8:38 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Oh my. Thor is in trouble this time. Looks like fun to me. What say you?

2017 Hugo Award Finalists Posted at 8:33 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

All the Birds in the Sky A Closed and Common Orbit Death's End Ninefox Gambit The Obelisk Gate Too Like the Lightning

The 2017 Hugo Award finalists have been announced. The noms in the Best Novel category are:

See the full list of noms in all categories on the Locus website.

Our congrats to all the finalists. What do you think of this crop of books? Any favorites in the list?

2017 Prometheus Award Finalists Posted at 8:00 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Dissidence Insurgence The Mandibles The Core of the Sun Blade of p'Na prometheus Award

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the finalists for the 2017 Prometheus Award, honoring pro-freedom works published in 2016.

The award will be presented in a ceremony during Worldcon 75, to be held August 9-13, 2017 in Helsinki Finland. Our congrats to all the finalists! Who do you think is going to win?

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets: Trailer 2 Posted at 11:19 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

This looks like a whole truckload of fun. Some really excellent special effects on display and the colors are amazing. I hope the story holds up.