Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Worlds Without End Blog

2014 World Fantasy Awards Finalists Posted at 5:04 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Dust Devil on a Quiet Street A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent The Ocean at the End of the Lane A Stranger in Olondria The Golem and the Jinni The Land Across

The finalists for the 2014 World Fantasy Awards have been announced. The nominees in the Novel category are:

See the full list of nominees in all categories on the Locus blog. The winners will be announced at the 2014 World Fantasy Convention held in Brighton, England on November 6th-9th.

Our congrats to all the nominees! What do you think of this lineup? The Ocean at the End of the Lane has garnered a 4th award nomination while The Golem and the Jinni is doing well with 3 noms.

2013 Shirley Jackson Award Winner! Posted at 1:48 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The Shirley Jackson Award American ElsewhereThe 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 13th at Readercon 25, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts, hosted by Readercon 25 Guests of Honor, Andrea Hairston and Kit Reed.

The winner in the novel category is American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett.

See the official press release for complete results in all categories.

Congratulations to Robert Jackson Bennett and all the nominees! What do you think of the results? Anyone read American Elsewhere yet?




Introducing the David Gemmell Awards Posted at 6:55 PM by Rico Simpkins


Morningstar AwardLegend AwardToday we’re happy to announce the addition of the David Gemmell Awards to the Worlds Without End database! The two awards, established in memory of fantasy author David Gemmell, consist of the Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel in the traditional, heroic, epic or high fantasy genres, and the Morningstar Award for best such first novel by a new author.

This is one of our first attempts at adding lesser known awards that nevertheless highlight very good talent.  The Gemmell Awards are only eight years old, but have already added novel material to our database.  As one perusal of the lists will show you, their list includes novels that have not received recognition from the major awards, and may take you down a path you never knew existed.

It’s been a while since we added some new awards to our database.  To be honest, we had a few that were higher up on our list (and they are still coming!), but, when we realized that many of our members had already added the novels that this list requires, we realized we had a quick win on our hands.  Let us know what you think of this new addition and don’t forget to check your reading stats page to see how you fare for this award.  We just got the last dozen or so books for the award added to the site so you may have some tagging to do.  Get to reading!

2014 Locus Award Winners! Posted at 5:28 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Abaddon's Gate The Ocean at the End of the Lane The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two

The 2014 Locus Award Winners have been announced! They are:

Locus Science Fiction

Locus Fantasy

Locus Young Adult

See the complete list of winners in all categories in the official press release.

Our congrats to the winners and nominees.  It was a very nice lineup.  What do you think of these winners? Anything you’d have done differently?

2014 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced! Posted at 1:13 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

The Ghost Bride The Ocean at the End of the Lane Three Parts Dead Sleepless Knights The Golem and the Jinni

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the finalists for the 2014 Mythopoeic Award.

Our congrats to all the finalists!  What looks good to you on this list?

2014 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Winner! Posted at 10:29 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Strange BodiesJohn W. Campbell Memorial AwardThe winner of the John W. Campbell Award for 2014 was announced at the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 13-15, at the University of Kansas.  The winner is Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux.  Our congrats to the winner and all the nominees.  This is quite an achievement for Mr. Theroux who beat out some of the biggest names in the business.  It was an impressive short list to say the least.

2014 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Finalists Announced Posted at 5:57 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Lexicon Proxima The Circle We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves Hild The Cusanus Game Ancillary Justice The Disestablishment of Paradise Evening's Empires The Red: First Light The Adjacent On the Steel Breeze Shaman Neptune's Brood Strange Bodies

The finalists for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, for best SF novel, have been announced:

John W. Campbell Memorial AwardThe award will be presented during the Campbell Conference, to be held June 13-15, 2014 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, KS.

This makes the 6th major award nomination for Ancillary Justice which just took home the 2013 Nebula.  What do you make of this list? Any personal favorites in there? Of the 15 books on the list 4 are by women which is an improvement over last year’s list that was only 1 out of 13.


2013 Nebula Award Winner! Posted at 11:22 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Nebula AwardsAncillary JusticeThe 2013 Nebula Awards were announced last night at the Forty-Ninth Nebula Awards Weekend in San Jose, CA, hosted by the SWFA. The winner for best novel is Anne Leckie’s Ancillary Justice. The other nominees were:

Congrats to Anne and all the nominees. This was one hell of a good nominees list.  You can see the complete list of winners in all categories on the SFWA site.

Ancillary Justice has been nominated for five major awards and has already won the 2013 BSFA and the 2014 Clarke and is still in the running for the 2014 Hugo. That’s 3 out of 4 so far. Very impressive. Can she go 4 out of 5 with the Hugo? What do you think of this result? With all those noms it can’t be much of a surprise. Anything on the ballot that you would have preferred to have won?

Samuel R. Delany Officially Becomes a Grand Master this Weekend Posted at 10:47 AM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Science Fiction is about to have a new Grand Master. On May 17, Samuel R. Delany will attend the Nebula awards banquet and receive his title as 2013 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master.

Open RoadThe Grand Master Award honors lifetime achievement, and Delany is excited, humbled, and a bit bemused, to be so named. “You don’t walk around saying, ‘Well, I’m Grand Master….’” he smiles. “Although you’re tempted sometimes!”

Open Road Media has a great selection of books by Delany and they also publish over a dozen Nebula Award winners, nominees, and Grand Masters, spanning the award’s 49-year history.

2013 Bram Stoker Award Winners! Posted at 7:56 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post

Doctor SleepStephen KingThe Horror Writers Association have announced the 2013 Bram Stoker Award winners.  The winner for Superior Achievement in a Novel is Doctor Sleep by Stephen King.  Mr. King beat out the competition including his son Joe Hill.  That will make for some interesting conversation at their next family gathering.

See the complete list of winners in all categories on the official press release.