Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Worlds Without End Blog

2013 Arthur C. Clarke Award Winner! Posted at 5:11 PM by Dave Post

Dave Post
Dark EdenThe 2013 Arthur C. Clarke Award winner was announced last night in an exclusive award ceremony hosted by the Royal Society, London, as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.  The judging panel, nominated by the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and SCI-FI-LONDON, selected: Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus) as this year’s winner.

Chris Beckett received a check for £2013.00 and a commemorative engraved bookend trophy.  Congratulations to Mr. Beckett for the win and to all the other nominees:

  • NOD – Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)
  • Angelmaker – Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)
  • The Dog Stars – Peter Heller (Headline)
  • Intrusion – Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
  • 2312 – Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

So what do you think of the result? I’ve not read Dark Eden but it beat out perennial favorites Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken MacLeod which has to be a good sign, right?